My Books
Writing in Color: The Lessons We’ve Learned
Margaret K. McElderry Books, 23 August 2023
Writing in Color: The Lessons We’ve Learned

Rethink the way you approach writing in this revolutionary and informative new anthology from fourteen diverse authors that demystifies craft and authorship based on their experiences as writers of color—perfect for fans of Fresh Ink and Our Stories, Our Voices.

So, you’re thinking of writing a book. Or, maybe you’ve written one, and are wondering what to do with it. What does it take to publish a novel, or even a short story? If you’re a writer of color, these questions might multiply; after all, there’s a lot of writing advice out there, and it can be hard to know how much of it really applies to your own experiences. If any of this sounds like you, you’re in the right place: this collection of essays, written exclusively by authors of color, is here to encourage and empower writers of all ages and backgrounds to find their voice as they put pen to page.

Perhaps you’re just getting started. Here you’ll find a whole toolkit of advice from bestselling and award-winning authors for focusing on an idea, landing on a point of view, and learning which rules were meant to be broken. Or perhaps you have questions about everything beyond the first draft: what is it really like being a published author? These writers demystify the process, sharing personal stories as they forged their own path to publication, and specifically from their perspectives as author of color.

Every writer has a different journey. Maybe yours has already started. Or maybe it begins right here.

Edited by Nafiza Azad and Melody Simpson, Writing in Color: The Lessons We’ve Learned features essays from BIPOC children’s authors reflecting on craft and the lessons learned over the course of their literary careers, with contributions from Julie C. Dao, Joan He, Kosoko Jackson, Adiba Jaigirdar, Darcie Little Badger, Yamile Mendez, Axie Oh, Laura Pohl, Cindy Pon, Karuna Riazi, Gail D. Villanueva, Julian Winters, and Kat Zhang.

 

Add it on Goodreads!

Quackie the Pekin Duck
Stay Connected!